Browse routes

With hundreds of routes to choose from, the National Cycle Network is a great way to discover the UK. 

  • National Route 65

    National Route 65 of the National Cycle Network runs from Hornsea to Middlesbrough and also forms a part of the Trans Pennine Trail (east) cycle route between Selby and Hornsea. The route is fully open and signed.

  • National Route 656

    Route 656 takes you on a strenuous journey through the North York Moors. 

  • National Route 657

    Route 657 offers an alternative to following Route 65, which travels near to the North York Moors and past Felixkirk, and instead takes you through Thirsk.

  • National Route 658

    Route 658 links the northern parts of York together.

  • National Route 66

    National Cycle Route 66 runs from central Manchester to Spurn Head via Bradford, Leeds, York, Beverley, and Kingston upon Hull. Please see route description below for details of open sections.

  • National Route 665

    Route 665 links the east of Leeds to York via Wetherby and Tadcaster.

  • National Route 67

    National Route 67 of the National Cycle Network runs from Long Whatton near Loughborough to join National Route 71 near Northallerton in Yorkshire.  The stretch between Chesterfield and Leeds forms the main route of the Transpennine Trail (central). 
    Diversions on route, please see below.

  • National Route 672

    Route 672 is known as the Great Northern Greenway and will connect Derby City with Ilkeston when complete.

  • National Route 68

    National Route 68 of the National Cycle Network is known as the Pennine Cycleway. It runs up the spine of England and through three National Parks between Derby and Berwick-upon-Tweed.

  • National Route 680

    Route 680 is known as The Monsal Trail - a cycle, horse riding and walking trail in the Derbyshire Peak District.

  • National Route 685

    Padiham Greenway

  • National Route 688

    Route 688 takes you from Winterburn to Linton-on-Ouse and is the central part of the Way of the Roses cycle route.

  • National Route 689

    National Route 689 of the National Cycle Network connects Meltham with Lockwood Rail Station in south west Huddersfield via Netherton on a dismantled railway line.

  • National Route 69

    National Route 69 of the National Cycle Network connects Morecambe with Grimsby via Settle, Skipton, Cullingworth, Huddersfield, Horbury, Pontefract, Althorpe and Caistor. Please see route description below for details of open sections.

  • National Route 696

    National Route 696 is a combined walking and cycling route connecting Keighley, Bingley, Saltaire and Shipley and is also known as The Airedale Greenway. It follows the Leeds and Liverpool Canal and connects to - also forming part of - The Aire Valley Towpath between Leeds and Bingley. 

  • National Route 697

    National Route 697 of the National Cycle Network connects Garforth, West Yorkshire with Knottingly via Castleford and Ferrybridge. The northern end between Garforth and Allerton Bywater is called the Linesway Greenway.

  • National Route 699

    Route 699 links Dewsbury and Ossett.

  • National Route 7

    National Route 7 links Sunderland and Inverness. It forms two-thirds of the famous Sea to Sea (C2C) cycle route before heading north to Glasgow via Glen Trool Forest and the Ayrshire coast, before passing through two National Parks - Loch Lomond & The Trossachs and Cairngorms.

  • National Route 70

    National Route 70 forms the principal route of the Walney to Wear (W2W) long-distance coast to coast cycle route. National Route 70 links the coast at Walney Island by Barrow-In-Furness to Sunderland.

  • National Route 700

    A stunning long distance route that takes you on a tour of Morecambe Bay, one of the most beautiful stretches of coastline in the UK.  Taking you from the south west coast of Cumbria to Glasson Dock in Lancashire, this route is a feast for the senses. 

  • National Route 71

    National Route 71 of the National Cycle Network makes up the western third of the C2C route between Whitehaven or Workington and Blencow (Penrith). It continues south east from Penrith via Appleby-in-Westmorland and Northallerton to meet National Route 65 - the White Rose Cycle Route - at Kirby Knowle in Yorkshire.

  • National Route 715

    National Route 715 of the National Cycle Network joins Whorlton and Willington via Bishop Auckland and is part of the Walney to Wear and Whitby (W2W) route. In combination with a stretch on NCN 165 it offers an alternative to NCN 70 along the W2W route between Barnard Castle and Willington.

  • National Route 72

    National Route 72 of the National Cycle Network will start in Kendal and makes its way around the Cumbrian coast via Barrow-in-Furness and Whitehaven to Silloth.

  • National Route 73

    The route is open and signed on roads between Lochranza and Brodick on the Isle of Arran. Between Ardrossan and Kilmarnock the route is opened, signed and mainly traffic-free.

  • National Route 74

    National Route 74 is close to completion having been indevelopment for many years. Most infrastructure is in place - but (at November 2016) signage is still being reviewed. This is inadequate in places. The route connects Gretna and Glasgow following a relatively direct route - for much of its length following the same transport corridor as the main rail and road routes.