Browse routes

With hundreds of routes to choose from, the National Cycle Network is a great way to discover the UK. 

  • National Route 547

    A short route in the Peak District, mostly on road, linking the High Peak Trail - National Rout 54, to the Tissington Trail - National Route 68, via Carsington Water. 

  • National Route 548

    A short east-west route in the Peak District, linking the High Peak Trail - National Route 54 to Route 549 at Hartington.

  • National Route 549

    National Route 549 of the National Cycle Network connects Hurdlow in the Peak District with Etwall via Waterhouses and Uttoxeter.

  • National Route 55

    National Route 55 of the National Cycle Network when complete will connect Ironbridge to Preston via Stafford, Macclesfield, Stockport and Wigan or Bolton. Between Stafford and Stoke-on-Trent the route follows National Route 5.
    Please note: Diversions on route, see below.

  • National Route 558

    Route 558 connects communities south of Manchester together.

  • National Route 56

    National Route 56 of the National Cycle Network is open and signed from Chester to Wallasey and via the Mersey ferry to Liverpool and National Route 62 - the Trans Pennine Trail.

  • National Route 562

    National Route 562 of the National Cycle Network connects Southport with Aston to the south of Runcorn via Burscough, Wigan, St Helens and Widnes. 

  • National Route 563

    National Route 563 of the National Cycle Network connects the Connah's Quay/Chester Railway Path near Garden City to Ellesmere Port.

  • National Route 566

    National Route 566 of the National Cycle Network will run from Llanddeusant, where it will join Route 5, to Newborough via Amlwch, Llangefni and Malltraeth. 

  • National Route 57

    National Cycle Route 57, when complete, will run West to East, from Cricklade in Wiltshire to Welwyn Garden City in Hertfordshire.

  • National Route 573

    Route 573 runs from Congleton to Davenham passing through Goostrey. 

  • National Route 574

    Route 574 of the National Cycle Network connects with Route 6 at Sewell taking you along the Icknield Way Trail past the western edge of Dunstable to Chesham via Berkhamsted. 

  • National Route 6

    National Route 6 passes through Watford, Luton, Milton Keynes, Northampton, Market Harborough, Leicester, Derby, Nottingham, Worksop, Sheffield, Manchester, Blackburn, Preston, Lancaster, Kendal and Windermere, and will connect London and Threlkeld (nr. Keswick) in Cumbria when complete.

  • National Route 60

    Route 60 of the National Cycle Network runs between North and East Manchester, with its furthest south segment forming part of the Fallowfield Loopline.

  • National Route 604

    National Route 604 of the National Cycle Network connects Church near Oswaldwistle with Burnley via Clayton Le Moors.

  • National Route 61

    Route 61 travels from Maidenhead to Hatfield, Welwyn Garden City and Hertford before arriving near Hoddesdon.

  • National Route 62

    National Route 62 connects Fleetwood on the Fylde region of Lancashire with Selby in North Yorkshire. It forms the west and central sections of The Trans Pennine Trail which is a long-distance path running from coast to coast across northern England.
    Please Note: Diversions on route, see below

  • National Route 622

    Route 622 is a 21 mile cycle route encircling the city of Preston in Lancashire. This route is known locally as the 'Preston Guild Wheel'

  • National Route 626

    National Route 626 of the National Cycle Network connects Chadderton with Hyde via Oldham and Ashton-under-Lyne.

  • National Route 627

    Route 627 starts in Kirkburton and takes Shepley and Millhouse Green before connecting to the Trans Pennine Trail.

  • National Route 63

    National Cycle Route 63 runs from Burton on Trent to Wisbech.

  • National Route 636

    Route 636 is 4 miles long and connects north Harrogate with Knaresborough. The eastern half from Knaresborough to Bilton is known as the Beryl Burton Cycleway.

  • National Route 64

    National Route 64 of the National Cycle Network will run from Market Harborough to Lincoln via Melton Mowbray and Newark-on-Trent. Most of the route is complete and signed with the major gap being around Bottesford.

  • National Route 647

    Route 647 links Lincoln and Worksop via Tuxford

  • National Route 648

    National Route 648 of the National Cycle Network connects Route 680 near Bakewell in the Peak District with Route 6 at Sherwood Forest via Baslow, Chesterfield, Bolsover, Shirebrook and Warsop.