Three Rivers

This long-distance route connects Middlesbrough, Stockton, Hartlepool, Durham, Consett, Newcastle and South Shields.

The unique Three Rivers Cycle Route travels through contrasting landscapes and past some of the most iconic sights and attractions in the North East.

These include:

  • the historic Durham Cathedral World Heritage Site
  • the modern Millennium Bridge
  • the impressive Sage Music and Arts Centre in Gateshead
  • Hartlepool's Historic Quay
  • and of course the three rivers: the Tyne, Tees and Wear with their industrial and maritime heritage.

Numbered as National Route 14, blue signposts will guide you along its snaking 80 miles (129km) between Middlesbrough and South Shields.

You'll move along a host of interesting alternative routes including the C2C sculpture trail and the Three Rivers Cycleway between Sunderland and South Shields which passes Souter Lighthouse.

The Three Rivers covers the network of traffic-free railway paths in the North-East, including the Derwent walk, the Lanchester valley, the Consett-Sunderland Railway path and sculpture trail and Wansbeck Estuary Art Trail.

This ride incorporates part of theĀ North Sea Cycle Route, the world's longest signed international cycle route, passing through seven countries around the North Sea.

Please note

We have taken all responsible steps to ensure that these routes are safe and achievable by people with a reasonable level of fitness.

However, all outdoor activities involve a degree of risk. To the extent permitted by law, Sustrans accepts no responsibility for any accidents or injury resulting from following these routes.

Walking and cycling routes change over time. Weather conditions may also affect path surfaces.

Please use your own judgement when using the routes based upon the weather and the ability, experience and confidence levels of those in your group.

To make sure everyone gets the most out of their time by the water, please ensure that you follow theĀ Towpath Code.

Share this page