Route 15

Route Description

National Route 15 of the National Cycle Network will connect National Route 6 in Belton, near Shepshed Leicestershire with National Route 1 in Lincolnshire near Coningsby via Nottingham, Grantham and Sleaford. Some small sections are open and signed, although most of the route is still awaiting development. 

The route is currently 20 miles long.

Route Sections

1. Belton to Diseworth

National Route 15 is open and signed between the two villages on minor roads, providing a link to East Midlands Airport which is next to Diseworth.

2. Bingham to Bottesford

The section between Bingham to Bottesford is open and runs from the A46 using cycle lanes and shared use paths through Bingham and along the A52 to Whatton, where it leaves the A52 and runs on lightly trafficked roads through to Bottesford.

3. Muston to Grantham

Grantham to Muston is open along the Grantham Canal and is entirely traffic-free.

Traffic-free Sections

Bingham to Whatton-in-the-Vale is mainly traffic-free alongside the main roads; Muston to Grantham is entirely traffic-free. 

Things to see and do

  • Belvoir Castle, Bottesford
  • St Wulfrums Church, Grantham (a pair of peregrine falcons roost in the bell tower)

To make sure everyone gets the most out of their time by the water, please ensure that you follow the Towpath Code.

Zoom level: 
Buy the map

Map shows the National Cycle Network and local routes in this area.

This route will connect National Route 6 in Belton, near Shepshed Leicestershire with National Route 1 in Lincolnshire near Coningsby, via Nottingham, Grantham and Sleaford.

20 miles