Browse routes

With hundreds of routes to choose from, the National Cycle Network is a great way to discover the UK. 

  • National Route 75

    National Route 75 of the National Cycle Network connects Leith in east Edinburgh with Portavadie on the Cowall Peninsula in Argyll, via Glasgow and using the ferry between Gourock and Dunoon.

  • National Route 753

    National Route 753 will link Route 73 in Ardrossan with Route 75 in Gourock via the coast. See text below for details of open sections. 

  • National Route 754

    This route starts on Route 7 and uses the towpath of the Forth and Clyde canal from Bowling, through north Glasgow, to the Falkirk Wheel; and then the Union Canal towpath (joining Route 75) into the heart of Edinburgh.

  • National Route 755

    This 8 mile route uses part of what is known locally as the 'Strathkelvin Railway Path' and takes you from Kirkintilloch to Strathblane using a good quality, gentle railway path.  The volcanic plug of ‘Dunglass’ towards the end of the route provides an interesting landmark. 

  • National Route 756

    This primarily urban-character route runs from East Kilbride to meet the Clyde at Rutherglen, runs along the south bank of the the Clyde, joins Route 75 briefly on the north bank of the Clyde at Anderston, and then heads northwards using some urban roads, Kelvingrove Park, and the path beside the river Kelvin as far as Maryhill and the Forth & Clyde Canal (National Route 754). 

  • National Route 76

    National Route 76 of the National Cycle Network runs from Berwick-upon-Tweed to Edinburgh, Stirling and Kirkcaldy, with the route on both sides of the Forth.

  • National Route 764

    This route follows an old railway path - also known as the West Fife Way - from Clackmannan nr Alloa to Dunfermline, linking Routes 76 and 1.

  • National Route 765

    This route runs from nearby Stirling Railway Station (where it links with Route 76), past Stirling University, Dunblane, and to Doune. It follows quiet back roads and some more lengthy stretches of traffic free path.

  • National Route 766

    This route runs north from Kirkcaldy to Milldeans Wood north of Glenrothes, linking Route 76 and Route 1.

  • National Route 767

    This route, also known as the Devon Way, runs from Route 76 in the centre of Alloa along a railway path to the village of Dollar.

  • National Route 768

    This route runs from Route 76 on the outskirts of Tullibody to Alva. An extension to Tillicoultry is planned, where it will link with Route 767.

  • National Route 77

    National Route 77 of the National Cycle Network runs between Dundee and Pitlochry via Perth.

  • National Route 775

    This route runs northwards from Route 1 in Milnathort/Kinross to Perth where it links with Route 77. A route west to Lochearnhead is planned for future development.

  • National Route 776

    This route links Route 1 in Falkland with Route 777 in Newburgh.

  • National Route 777

    This route runs along the south side of the Tay Estuary, linking Route 776 in Newburgh with Route 1 at Newport-on-Tay.

  • National Route 78

    The Caledonia Way, National Route 78 of the National Cycle Network, is a cycle route that runs from Campbeltown to Inverness, along 235 miles of spectacular scenery. 
    The route begins at Campbeltown, following the Kintyre Peninsula and the Great Glen Way, it passes Loch Ness, Ben Nevis, many Scottish landmarks and historical sites and ends in the city of Inverness, the beautiful capital of the Highlands.
    It offers a variety of cycling, from challenging on-road hills, to lengthy sections of traffic-free path through the magnificent terrain of the west coast of Scotland. 

  • National Route 780

    Route 780, 'The Hebridean Way', is a 150-mile on-road route through the remote and spectacular islands of the Outer Hebrides. Using ferries and causeways to hop between islands, this popular route begins on the Island of Vatersay and ends on the northernmost point at the Butt of Lewis.

  • National Route 8

    Known as the Lôn Las Cymru, fully open and signed between Cardiff and Holyhead (Anglesey) via Brecon, Builth Wells, Machynlleth, Porthmadog and Bangor.

  • National Route 81

    National Route 81 connects Aberystwyth and Wolverhampton via Shrewsbury and Telford.

  • National Route 810

    National Route 810 of the National Cycle Network connects Ainsdale Rail Station and central Liverpool via Formby, Crosby and Stanley Park. Much of the route is formerly Regional Route 81.

  • National Route 818

    A short route between Cwmystwyth and Llangurig which links Routes 8 and 81 together.
    Please note: Traffic-free section path is eroded in some areas - please take care.

  • National Route 82

    National Route 82 of the National Cycle Network will run from Bangor to Fishguard when complete.

  • National Route 820

    Route 820 is a proposed route linking Routes 81 and 82.

  • National Route 822

    National Route 822 connects Aberaeron and Lampeter. Please see text below for details of open sections.

  • National Route 825

    Route 825 makes up most of the Radnor Ring route.