Please help us create a safer, more accessible National Cycle Network for all Donate today

Browse routes

With hundreds of routes to choose from, the National Cycle Network is a great way to discover the UK. 

  • National Route 1

    A long distance cycle route connecting Dover and the Shetland Islands - via the east coast of England and Scotland.

  • National Route 10

    National Route 10 of the National Cycle Network connects Cockermouth and North Shields via the Kielder Forest and Carlisle.

  • National Route 11

    National Route 11 of the National Cycle Network will connect Harlow in Essex with Wigginhall St Germans (south of King's Lynn) in Norfolk via Cambridge and Ely. Harlow to Stanstead Mountfitchet and Waterbeach to Wicken are still under development, along with a link to Saffron Walden.

  • National Route 12

    When complete, this route will run from Enfield Lock in north London to Spalding via Stevenage, St Neots and Peterborough.

  • National Route 125

    Route 125 runs north-south through Dartford and is an attractive, traffic free path for walkers and cyclists.

  • National Route 13

    When complete, this route will connect Tower Bridge in London with Fakenham in Norfolk.

  • National Route 136

    Route 136 connects Rainham and the village of Noak Hill via Upminster.

  • National Route 137

    Route 137 travels along the side of the River Mar Dyke from Aveley to North Stifford, passing through Davy Down Riverside Park.

  • National Route 14

    This route runs from Darlington in County Durham north-east to Hartlepool, then north-west through Durham to Consett and routing back north-east to South Shields along the south side of the River Tyne.

  • National Route 141

    Route 141 is part of The Keelmans Way, which links Wylam and the upper reaches of the Tyne with Central Gateshead and Newcastle and the Bill Quay area.

  • National Route 15

    This route will connect National Route 6 in Belton, near Shepshed Leicestershire with National Route 1 in Lincolnshire near Coningsby, via Nottingham, Grantham and Sleaford.

  • National Route 151

    Route 151 travels between Sleaford and Leasingham. The route is a traffic free greenway.

  • National Route 155

    Route 155 travels between Morpeth and Newbiggin-by-the-Sea

  • National Route 16

    National Route 16 of the National Cycle Network is currently in two sections. The first section connects Route 13 near Stansted via Great Dunmow, Braintree and Witham and continues to the intersection of Route 1 near Great Totham. The second section will connect Basildon with Shoeburyness, near Southend-on-Sea.

  • National Route 162

    A new route through North London connecting Finsbury Park and Highbury Fields.

  • National Route 164

    Route 164 exists in two sections, with one taking you through the Yorkshire Wolds from Pocklington to Hutton Cranswick as part of the Way of the Roses coast to coast cycle route. The southern section runs from Beverley to Kiplingcotes via North and South Newbald.

  • National Route 165

    Route 165 is part of the Walney to Whitby route, linking Barnard Castle to Whitby.

  • National Route 166

    Route 166 travels between the Yorkshire villages of Kirkham and Hunmanby.

  • National Route 167

    Route 167 runs between Huggate and Malton in Yorkshire.

  • National Route 168

    National Route 168 links Kildale in the North York Moors to Guisborough and Saltburn-by-the-Sea.

  • National Route 169

    Route 169 allows you to travel from the north of Scunthorpe to the south, and passes through green, open spaces with beautiful views of the Trent Valley.

  • National Route 17

    A 42 mile route that will run from Kent to the south coast.

  • National Route 174

    Route 174 will create a circuit around Sheerness, with many sections being suitable for recreational and family cycling. 

  • National Route 177

    National Route 177 of the National Cycle Network will run south from Northfleet in Kent, via Rochester, Maidstone and Ashford, to join with National Route 2 on the South coast. See text below for details of open sections.

  • National Route 18

    This route from Canterbury to Royal Tunbridge Wells is 61 miles long and takes in some of Kent's best scenery