Browse routes

With hundreds of routes to choose from, the National Cycle Network is a great way to discover the UK. 

  • Ashby Woulds Heritage Trail follows the old Ashby and Nuneaton Railway, which itself replaced an 18th century canal.

  • Connecting the two towns via a high quality traffic-free path through the countryside, the Brampton Valley Way provides the perfect opportunity for a family day out.

  • This route follows the River Derwent from Derby to Worthington and Cloud Quarry.

  • A fantastic long distance route that takes you from the East Midlands town of Derby right up to the historic, walled city of York.

  • This traffic-free route takes you from the Nottinghamshire village of Harby into the ancient city of Lincoln.

  • This route takes in the stunning Derbyshire Dales countryside between Middleton Top and Parsley Hay.

  • This is a largely traffic-free cycle link from Leicester City Centre to the tranquil Watermead Park. This route begins in Bede park and runs for 7.5 miles north out of the city, through Watermead Park, and over the fantastic Wreake cycle bridge to Syston Road.   

  • The route follows the trackbed of the old Newark to Bottesford railway, providing a traffic-free, green corridor between the pretty market town of Newark and the nearby village of Cotham.

  • A fantastic 10 mile, traffic free route that takes you through the 700 acre Shipley Country Park. 

  • National Route 1

    A long distance cycle route connecting Dover and the Shetland Islands - via the east coast of England and Scotland.

  • National Route 15

    This route will connect National Route 6 in Belton, near Shepshed Leicestershire with National Route 1 in Lincolnshire near Coningsby, via Nottingham, Grantham and Sleaford.

  • National Route 151

    Route 151 travels between Sleaford and Leasingham. The route is a traffic free greenway.

  • National Route 169

    Route 169 allows you to travel from the north of Scunthorpe to the south, and passes through green, open spaces with beautiful views of the Trent Valley.

  • National Route 423

    Route 423 follows the former Regional Route 30 and the Peregrine Path from Cwmbran to Ross via Monmouth.

  • National Route 426

    Linking Skenfrith to Route 46 at Kentchurch.

  • National Route 442

    This route is in two parts: the first follows part of the Cotswold Line railway from Worcester to Evesham via Pershore; the second links Honeybourne and Hanborough in Oxfordshire.

  • National Route 48

    National Route 48 of the National Cycle Network will run from Lincoln to Exeter with optional extensions over Dartmoor to Plymouth Hoe and northwards to Spurn Point.

  • National Route 52

    National Route 52 of the National Cycle Network will run north from Warwick through Coventry, Nuneaton and Coalville to link with National Route 6 just west of Loughborough.

  • National Route 53

    National Route 53 of the National Cycle Network will start at Peterborough and run west across the country, through Coventry to Birmingham. Much of the route is still awaiting development.

  • National Route 536

    Route 536 of the National Cycle Network connects Banbury with Thrapston via Towcester and Northampton.

  • National Route 54

    National Route 54 of the National Cycle Network will run from Stourport to Parsley Hay via Kidderminster, Dudley, Lichfield, Burton and Derby. The route includes the High Peak Trail which connects at Parsley Hay with the Tissington Trail (National Route 68), as well as to a number of other trails in the Peak District. It will form part of the proposed 60-mile circular White Peak Loop. 

  • National Route 547

    A short route in the Peak District, mostly on road, linking the High Peak Trail - National Rout 54, to the Tissington Trail - National Route 68, via Carsington Water. 

  • National Route 548

    A short east-west route in the Peak District, linking the High Peak Trail - National Route 54 to Route 549 at Hartington.

  • National Route 549

    National Route 549 of the National Cycle Network connects Hurdlow in the Peak District with Etwall via Waterhouses and Uttoxeter.

  • National Route 6

    National Route 6 passes through Watford, Luton, Milton Keynes, Northampton, Market Harborough, Leicester, Derby, Nottingham, Worksop, Sheffield, Manchester, Blackburn, Preston, Lancaster, Kendal and Windermere, and will connect London and Threlkeld (nr. Keswick) in Cumbria when complete.