Browse routes

With hundreds of routes to choose from, the National Cycle Network is a great way to discover the UK. 

  • National Route 6

    National Route 6 passes through Watford, Luton, Milton Keynes, Northampton, Market Harborough, Leicester, Derby, Nottingham, Worksop, Sheffield, Manchester, Blackburn, Preston, Lancaster, Kendal and Windermere, and will connect London and Threlkeld (nr. Keswick) in Cumbria when complete.

  • National Route 60

    Route 60 of the National Cycle Network runs between North and East Manchester, with its furthest south segment forming part of the Fallowfield Loopline.

  • National Route 604

    National Route 604 of the National Cycle Network connects Church near Oswaldwistle with Burnley via Clayton Le Moors.

  • National Route 62

    National Route 62 connects Fleetwood on the Fylde region of Lancashire with Selby in North Yorkshire. It forms the west and central sections of The Trans Pennine Trail which is a long-distance path running from coast to coast across northern England.
    Please Note: Diversions on route, see below

  • National Route 622

    Route 622 is a 21 mile cycle route encircling the city of Preston in Lancashire. This route is known locally as the 'Preston Guild Wheel'

  • National Route 626

    National Route 626 of the National Cycle Network connects Chadderton with Hyde via Oldham and Ashton-under-Lyne.

  • National Route 627

    Route 627 starts in Kirkburton and takes Shepley and Millhouse Green before connecting to the Trans Pennine Trail.

  • National Route 66

    National Cycle Route 66 runs from central Manchester to Spurn Head via Bradford, Leeds, York, Beverley, and Kingston upon Hull. Please see route description below for details of open sections.

  • National Route 68

    National Route 68 of the National Cycle Network is known as the Pennine Cycleway. It runs up the spine of England and through three National Parks between Derby and Berwick-upon-Tweed.

  • National Route 685

    Padiham Greenway

  • National Route 69

    National Route 69 of the National Cycle Network connects Morecambe with Grimsby via Settle, Skipton, Cullingworth, Huddersfield, Horbury, Pontefract, Althorpe and Caistor. Please see route description below for details of open sections.

  • National Route 7

    National Route 7 links Sunderland and Inverness. It forms two-thirds of the famous Sea to Sea (C2C) cycle route before heading north to Glasgow via Glen Trool Forest and the Ayrshire coast, before passing through two National Parks - Loch Lomond & The Trossachs and Cairngorms.

  • National Route 70

    National Route 70 forms the principal route of the Walney to Wear (W2W) long-distance coast to coast cycle route. National Route 70 links the coast at Walney Island by Barrow-In-Furness to Sunderland.

  • National Route 71

    National Route 71 of the National Cycle Network makes up the western third of the C2C route between Whitehaven or Workington and Blencow (Penrith). It continues south east from Penrith via Appleby-in-Westmorland and Northallerton to meet National Route 65 - the White Rose Cycle Route - at Kirby Knowle in Yorkshire.

  • National Route 72

    National Route 72 of the National Cycle Network will start in Kendal and makes its way around the Cumbrian coast via Barrow-in-Furness and Whitehaven to Silloth.

  • National Route 810

    National Route 810 of the National Cycle Network connects Ainsdale Rail Station and central Liverpool via Formby, Crosby and Stanley Park. Much of the route is formerly Regional Route 81.

  • A stunning long distance route that takes you on a tour of Morecambe Bay, one of the most beautiful stretches of coastline in the UK.  Taking you from the south west coast of Cumbria to Glasson Dock in Lancashire, this route is a feast for the senses. 

  • The Trans Pennine Trail (TPT) is a fantastic long distance route linking the North and Irish seas, passing through the Pennines, alongside rivers and canals and through some of the most historic towns and cities in the North of England.

  • This section of the Trans Pennine Trail travels between Southport and Penistone via Liverpool and Stockport. The Western section includes the Liverpool Loop line and the Cheshire Lines path and passes through the Peak District National park.

  • This great route travels from Whitehaven and takes you to the edge of the Lake District National Park at Cleator Moor before finishing at Sheriff's Gate.

  • A great route through Cumbria, taking in a Nature Reserve, National Trust property, quaint villages and a brewery!