Browse routes

With hundreds of routes to choose from, the National Cycle Network is a great way to discover the UK. 

  • A fantastic ride that takes in some of Northern England's most beautiful coastline.

  • This cycle route takes you on a great tour of Gateshead. Starting out at the BALTIC Gallery you will follow the banks of the River Tyne until you arrive at the Bill Quay Community Farm, a treasured green space on the edge of Gateshead.

  • The Cleveland coast is stunning and this short route travels between the seaside resorts of Redcar and Saltburn.

  • The Coast and Castles South cycle route links the Forth and Tyne estuaries, joining Newcastle and Edinburgh via miles of unspoiled coastline and some of Britain's best built and natural heritage.

  • Much of the route follows the line of the former Stanhope & Tyne Railway, Britain’s first commercial railway, which was finally closed in 1985. The route into Sunderland takes you past the new Stadium of Light, along the riverside, through the marina and onto the beach at Roker.

  • NCN 72

    A ride through some of England’s most dramatic and wild countryside, taking in magnificent coastal views, breathtaking countryside and Roman forts.

  • This route takes you from the historic town of Berwick-upon-Tweed to Holy Island, which lies just a few miles off the Northumberland Coast. Both an island and a picturesque village, Holy Island has a wealth of fascinating history and provides stunning coastal views.  For a longer ride, you can extend the route to Alnmouth, further down the coast.

  • The Reivers Route is a 173-mile coast-to-coast cycle route from Tynemouth to Whitehaven through unspoilt Northumberland and the Kielder Forest. The route takes in Carlisle and the Lake District and provides a great alternative or return route for the Sea to Sea (C2C) Route.

  • This 15 mile, largely traffic free route travels between Beamish and the Sunderland Coast at Roker Beach.

  • National Route 1

    A long distance cycle route connecting Dover and the Shetland Islands - via the east coast of England and Scotland.

  • National Route 10

    National Route 10 of the National Cycle Network connects Cockermouth and North Shields via the Kielder Forest and Carlisle.

  • National Route 14

    This route runs from Darlington in County Durham north-east to Hartlepool, then north-west through Durham to Consett and routing back north-east to South Shields along the south side of the River Tyne.

  • National Route 141

    Route 141 is part of The Keelmans Way, which links Wylam and the upper reaches of the Tyne with Central Gateshead and Newcastle and the Bill Quay area.

  • National Route 155

    Route 155 travels between Morpeth and Newbiggin-by-the-Sea

  • National Route 165

    Route 165 is part of the Walney to Whitby route, linking Barnard Castle to Whitby.

  • National Route 168

    National Route 168 links Kildale in the North York Moors to Guisborough and Saltburn-by-the-Sea.

  • National Route 636

    Route 636 is 4 miles long and connects north Harrogate with Knaresborough. The eastern half from Knaresborough to Bilton is known as the Beryl Burton Cycleway.

  • National Route 65

    National Route 65 of the National Cycle Network runs from Hornsea to Middlesbrough and also forms a part of the Trans Pennine Trail (east) cycle route between Selby and Hornsea. The route is fully open and signed.

  • National Route 68

    National Route 68 of the National Cycle Network is known as the Pennine Cycleway. It runs up the spine of England and through three National Parks between Derby and Berwick-upon-Tweed.

  • National Route 7

    National Route 7 links Sunderland and Inverness. It forms two-thirds of the famous Sea to Sea (C2C) cycle route before heading north to Glasgow via Glen Trool Forest and the Ayrshire coast, before passing through two National Parks - Loch Lomond & The Trossachs and Cairngorms.

  • National Route 70

    National Route 70 forms the principal route of the Walney to Wear (W2W) long-distance coast to coast cycle route. National Route 70 links the coast at Walney Island by Barrow-In-Furness to Sunderland.

  • National Route 715

    National Route 715 of the National Cycle Network joins Whorlton and Willington via Bishop Auckland and is part of the Walney to Wear and Whitby (W2W) route. In combination with a stretch on NCN 165 it offers an alternative to NCN 70 along the W2W route between Barnard Castle and Willington.

  • National Route 72

    National Route 72 of the National Cycle Network will start in Kendal and makes its way around the Cumbrian coast via Barrow-in-Furness and Whitehaven to Silloth.

  • This coastal route links the two lighthouses of Souter and St Mary's and features a ferry crossing at the River Tyne Estuary on the Shields Ferry.

  • This short ride takes you on a tour of the Tees River, taking in the Transporter Bridge and Britain's newest and largest RSPB site at Saltholme.