Browse routes

With hundreds of routes to choose from, the National Cycle Network is a great way to discover the UK. 

  • National Route 137

    Route 137 travels along the side of the River Mar Dyke from Aveley to North Stifford, passing through Davy Down Riverside Park.

  • National Route 14

    This route runs from Darlington in County Durham north-east to Hartlepool, then north-west through Durham to Consett and routing back north-east to South Shields along the south side of the River Tyne.

  • National Route 141

    Route 141 is part of The Keelmans Way, which links Wylam and the upper reaches of the Tyne with Central Gateshead and Newcastle and the Bill Quay area.

  • National Route 15

    This route will connect National Route 6 in Belton, near Shepshed Leicestershire with National Route 1 in Lincolnshire near Coningsby, via Nottingham, Grantham and Sleaford.

  • National Route 151

    Route 151 travels between Sleaford and Leasingham. The route is a traffic free greenway.

  • National Route 155

    Route 155 travels between Morpeth and Newbiggin-by-the-Sea

  • National Route 16

    National Route 16 of the National Cycle Network is currently in two sections. The first section connects Route 13 near Stansted via Great Dunmow, Braintree and Witham and continues to the intersection of Route 1 near Great Totham. The second section will connect Basildon with Shoeburyness, near Southend-on-Sea.

  • National Route 164

    Route 164 exists in two sections, with one taking you through the Yorkshire Wolds from Pocklington to Hutton Cranswick as part of the Way of the Roses coast to coast cycle route. The southern section runs from Beverley to Kiplingcotes via North and South Newbald.

  • National Route 165

    Route 165 is part of the Walney to Whitby route, linking Barnard Castle to Whitby.

  • National Route 166

    Route 166 travels between the Yorkshire villages of Kirkham and Hunmanby.

  • National Route 167

    Route 167 runs between Huggate and Malton in Yorkshire.

  • National Route 168

    National Route 168 links Kildale in the North York Moors to Guisborough and Saltburn-by-the-Sea.

  • National Route 169

    Route 169 allows you to travel from the north of Scunthorpe to the south, and passes through green, open spaces with beautiful views of the Trent Valley.

  • National Route 17

    A 42 mile route that will run from Kent to the south coast.

  • National Route 174

    Route 174 will create a circuit around Sheerness, with many sections being suitable for recreational and family cycling. 

  • National Route 177

    National Route 177 of the National Cycle Network will run south from Northfleet in Kent, via Rochester, Maidstone and Ashford, to join with National Route 2 on the South coast. See text below for details of open sections.

  • National Route 18

    This route from Canterbury to Royal Tunbridge Wells is 61 miles long and takes in some of Kent's best scenery

  • National Route 2

    A long distance cycle route which, when complete, will link Dover in Kent with St. Austell in Cornwall via the south coast of England. 

  • National Route 20

    National Route 20 of the National Cycle Network will connect the River Thames at Wandsworth with Brighton. The route will join and follow National Route 21 at Redhill before branching off at Crawley and crossing the South Downs to Brighton.

  • National Route 207

    National Route 207 of the National Cycle Network connects South Brent in Devon with Dartington via Buckfastleigh.

  • National Route 21

    This route runs south from Greenwich out of London through Lewisham (the Waterlink Way) to Crawley, and then via East Grinstead and Eridge to Heathfield and Eastbourne.
    Please note: Much of the traffic-free on Route 21 is not suitable for a road bike. There are stretches through woodland without a tarmac surface which may require dismounting, as well as sections requiring bikes to be carried over a railway footbridge and kissing gates.

  • National Route 22

    National Route 22 of the National Cycle Network will connect Banstead (near Epsom) and Brockenhurst via Dorking, Guildford, Farnham, Petersfield, Havant, Portsmouth and the Isle of Wight between Ryde and Yarmouth.

  • National Route 221

    Route 221 travels from West Byfleet to Brookwood along the Basingstoke Canal.

  • National Route 223

    Route 223 travels from Chertsey to Shoreham-by-Sea on main and quiet roads.

  • National Route 224

    Route 224 runs from Farnham to Medstead and from Wickham to Gosport.