Millennium Mileposts

There are four different types of Millennium Mileposts on the National Cycle Network. Although there are artists from all four countries, the posts are spread throughout the United Kingdom. Unsurprisingly, the majority of posts have been ordered for their respective country of origin.

The first post to be commissioned was designed by John Mills, and his piece was entitled The Fossil Tree. The post takes the form of an abstract tree with relief imagery of fossils depicting the passage of time from early primitive creatures to the ultimate demise of fossil fuel driven technology.

The Scottish sculptor Iain McColl designed the second post, The Cockerel. The influences behind this one are Miro's "The Fork" and Branusci's "The Cock". This design has additional space that has been left for partners to cast their own short message.

The design by Welsh artist, Andrew Rowe, is based upon the nautical and industrial heritage of his native Swansea and can have up to four directional fingers.

The fourth post is titled "Tracks", designed by Belfast artist David Dudgeon. The main design on the post shows the tracks made in the landscape by cyclists. This is complemented by a piece of text exploring sensations and observations one makes whilst travelling through various environments.